The Modern Workers Creed

(Adapted from the Rifleman’s Creed)

This is my ultrabook. There are many like it, but this one is mine.

My ultrabook is my best friend. It is my life. I must master it as I must master my life.

My ultrabook, without me, is useless. Without my ultrabook, I am useless. I must know my ultrabook true. I must know my software and be efficient and defeat my enemy which is time.

My ultrabook and I know that what counts in this war is not the background image on our desktop, the number of programs we have installed, nor the gigs of storage we have. We know that it is the efficiency we gain. We will gain…

My ultrabook is human, even as I, because it is my life. Thus, I will learn it as a brother. I will learn its weaknesses, its strength, its parts, its accessories, its ports and its UI. I will keep my ultrabook clean of malware and ready, even as I am clean and ready. We will become part of each other. We will…

Before God, I swear this creed. My ultrabook and I are the defenders of my organization. We are the masters of our enemy, time. We are the saviors of departmental workflows.

So be it, until victory is IT’s and there is no enemy, only uptime!

Leave a Reply

