Windows 10 Mobile Part 2

So we have just started playing with Windows 10 at work. We have a few Surface Pro 4’s and early feedback is very positive. The Microsoft bio-metric authentication scheme Windows Hello alone has my team fighting over the devices.

I bring up Windows 10 because some of the most compelling features of the mobile version of Win 10 is in conjunction with its big twin brother. This particular feature caught me by surprise while I was using  the preview version of Win Mobile 10. I had received a call I wasn’t able to pick up. By chance I went over to my Surface Pro 2 shortly after the call and as I logged on, Cortana popped up to tell me I had missed a call! It also offered to call or text back, right from the PC. Well sort of. Microsoft is using Cortana as a bridge between the PC and the phone. Now that’s an assistant! Yes Cortana please return my call!

And then I found you can text from Windows 10 through Cortana to the phone! Nice! I found myself playing with this for an hour. My wife finally shouted “Stop texting my phone!”. Now the call and the text actually require and are made by the phone. But with my Bluetooth headset I can do it sitting at the PC and never touch the phone and never miss a beat.

I did feel a gap currently exists in being able to see texts from the phone on the PC. Presently its one way from the PC to the phone. But I have to think its a matter of time until you can have Cortana share incoming texts from the hone to the PC and the ability to respond back.

Once you get what’s going on you start to see another layer to Cortana and its place in the eco system. Being the data transport between devices your communications can follow you everywhere. Its exciting to see the potential here so come on Microsoft, leverage this handy “assistant” and further blur the lines between my phone and my PC (and my tablet and my band and my…).

 

Leave a Reply

