Using Microsoft (on my iPhone)

So about a month ago I had to make a decision regarding a smartphone platform and made the move to using the iPhone. I’ll refer you to my previous posts for the background on that. So its been very interesting and I am glad for the experience. I still walk around  the house using the Lumia and actually like placing my 950 xl next to my iPhone to run comparisons and tests. But I pick up the iPhone when I leave the house while the Lumia sits on the charger.

A key element to my being able to make this move successfully has been Microsoft’s decision over the last few years to actively develop for other platforms. Obviously there is the process of learning a new OS and adjusting your work flow somewhat but using familiar apps, current accounts and services goes a long way in making the transition.

So here are the Microsoft apps on my iPhone

  • MS Office
    • Word
    • Excel
    • PowerPoint
    • OneNote
  • Outlook
  • OneDrive
  • Office Lens
  • Sway
  • RD Client
  • Bing
  • Bing Rewards
  • Skype for Business
  • Cortana
  • Azure Authenticator
  • Microsoft Health (connected to the Band 2)
  • Healthvault
  • Translator
  • MSN News
  • MSN Money
  • Channel 9
  • Microsoft Selfie
  • Xbox One Smartglass
  • Wunderlist

After installing the apps and logging in with my Microsoft account, my settings, content, filters or pointers as the case may be were all there.

Next I went on the hunt for non-Microsoft apps that would work regardless of being on the iPhone or my Windows 10 desktop or mobile device.

Here are the Cross Platform Apps I’ve installed and use across iOS and Windows.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Flipboard
  • Enpass
  • Ring
  • Insteon
  • Audible
  • Amazon
  • Ebay
  • Kindle
  • Slack
  • Straw
  • Life 360
  • Pandora
  • VPN App
  • Citrix Receiver

So I’m off to a good start. I’m actually feeling pretty good about managing the move with little disruption and my friends are having a great time having fun over it at my expense. At work, we are moving all our Lumia users to the iPhone. We are sending them to YouTube for a training session before we visit to drop off and set up the device.  So I will revisit this topic periodically but its time to focus on other matters. BUILD just kicked off and I need to catch up on the keynote. We are prepping to move our organization to Windows 10 and there is the current security crisis plaguing health care that’s demanding immediate attention. Plenty to do and write about. See you soon!

Blessings to you my friends!

Leave a Reply

